Content starts here
Old Parliament House
Construction of Australia’s ‘provisional’ Parliament House in Canberra began on 28 August 1923, with a ceremonial turning of the first sod. This landmark event, along with the construction, official opening on 9 May 1927 and day-to-day life of the building, are all part of Mildenhall’s unique record. This set of photographs captures the first 10 years of the building. In Canberra’s early years Parliament House was the social, geographic and political heart of the new Australian capital.
You’re viewing 50 of 256 total
Duke of York opening the front door of Parliament House, Prime Minister Rt Hon Stanley Bruce on the left, Governor General on right.
Presentation of cheque and cigarette case to Bert Hinkler by Prime Minister S.M. Bruce in front of Parliament House with Royal Military College Cadets and spectators.
Parliament House opening preparations - Cletrac crawler tractor and scoop preparing the grounds - Light rail line in middle ground used to carry bricks from the brickworks to building sites
East Block Parkes under construction - View from south east. Built for departmental support for Parliament House. Was Canberra GPO and is now the National Archives of Australia
Prime Minister W M Hughes with C S Daley Secretary to the Federal Capital Advisory Committee and P G Stewart Minister for Works and Railways on the site of Parliament House
ANZAC Parade (was called Gallipoli Parade until 1928) from Mount Ainslie - Parliament House in background - St Johns Church on right - Scotts crossing over the Molonglo River- Red Hill on the horizon
No more photographs for this set.View all photographs.